General Skilled Migration minimum points pass mark increasing

Australia has raised the minimum eligibility score from 60 to 65 points for all skilled migration visa applications made on or after July 1, 2018. The visa categories include:

  • Australia Skilled Independent Visa subclass 189

  • Australia Skilled State Sponsored Visa subclass 190

  • Australia Skilled Regional Provisional Subclass 489 visa

This legislative change will impact all applicants on 60 points who have not yet received an invitation to apply for a skilled visa. Applications lodged in respect of invitations that were issued before this date will remain subject to current requirements of 60 points.

The increase in pass mark to apply for Australia PR reflects the high level of interest in skilled migration to Australia.

It's important to note that obtaining the new minimum points score of 65 does not guarantee an invitation to apply for a visa. Realistically, an applicant requires a minimum of 70 to 75 points to secure an invitation to apply for a Skilled Independent 189 Visa.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.